· 

"Returning to the house of the Lord" Memorial Service

"Returning to the house of the Lord"   Memorial Service

 

Let us pray.

 

God the Father of Jesus Christ and today we remember those who were called to the Lord.  We offer our prayer and praise before God.  We gather before God, the source of life.  Let us hear comfort, truth and hope from the Words of the Bible.  I pray in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen

 

Today's service is to remember the deceased members who have passed away.  I have decided to preach from Psalm 23.  Psalm 23 is a passage that is often read when someone is ill or at funerals.  This passage is often read in the funeral scene of movies.

 

About 40 years ago, there was a movie based on a true story in England called "Elephant Man", a co-produced movie between America and England.  His name was Joseph Carey Merrick, born in 1862 and died in 1890.  He had severe physical disability.  This is a movie about a young man faced a lot of discrimination and prejudice because of his extremely deformed appearance, but when he meets the surgeon Frederick Treves, he regains his dignity as a human being.

 

In the movie, there is a scene where the main character recites the Bible that his mother taught him when he was young.  The verse begins with, "The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing."  He was reciting Psalm 23.

 

Psalm 23 is a psalm of David, king of Judea. I think it's a poem he wrote in his later years looking back on his life.

 

Psalm 23 can be divided into two sections, verses 1-4 and verses 5-6.  Let us look at the second part.

 

"You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

 

In his later years, David reflected on the many aspects of his life, when he was in trouble, when he was attacked by his enemies.  He truly feels that he has been protected and blessed by God.

 

When attacked by the enemy, it was an emergency.  In such an emergency, God prepared a table for himself. The dining table represents a peaceful life.  It is said that the owner of the house who invited him poured perfumed oil on the head of the guest and made the cup to overflow.

 

When the master of the house pours perfumed oil on the head of the guest, it is a proof of how lovingly the host welcomes the guest. Also, pouring the cup to overflowing shows how much the host treats the guest as an important guest.

 

God supported me, protected me, and loved me through all the painful moments of my life.  To this

David said, "Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”

 

Life is not only physical life, but there is spiritual life after death. David hopes and aspires to return to the house of the Lord after we die and stay there.

 

As God has shown goodness, David will continue to trust God.

 

David was able to trust God and even after death was because he had the experience of God helping and protecting him in various afflictions throughout his life.

 

David mentions this in verses 1-4.

 

The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing.

He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,

He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

 

It begins with "The Lord is my shepherd."

 

In the bible, "I" is a very important word.  David emphasizes "I" many times.  It is about himself, David.

 

Lord means God.  David compares God to a shepherd and himself to a sheep.  Before he became a King David was a shepherd.  David looked back on his life in his later years, and I lacked nothing. He was never in want, he sings.  David had a fulfilling life and he was absolutely sure about it.

 

David describes how God was to him.

"He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters he refreshes my soul.”

Sheep need pasture and water to survive. The shepherd leads the sheep.

God has met my needs and brought my soul back to life, he sings.

 

The Lord is worthy of his name, and he guides me in the right way.

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

When walking through the valley of the shadow of death, the lions and wolves that hunt the sheep hide behind the valley and attack the sheep.  A shepherd protects sheep from predators.

 

Whips and sticks are tools used to protect sheep from predators such as lions and wolves. A cane is also a tool used to guide sheep to the right path when they go the wrong way.

As a shepherd puts his life to protect and guide his sheep, God has protected and guided me.  He wrote that the presence of God gave him strength and comfort.

 

The God who protected and guided David is inviting him.  In the past, now, and in the future, and even if this body perishes, God will be with me.  So I will return to the house of the Lord, and I will remain there, says David.

 

How fortunate that David was to be able to recite Psalm 23!

How blessed are those who believe in returning to the house of the Lord and the Lord says, "Welcome home."

 

Let us pray.

 

God the Father of Jesus Christ I praise your precious name.  God who created all things, we are born and will return to you.  How blessed are those who can say, "I will return to the house of the Lord."

 

Like David, let us live in the grace and have the mercy of the Lord.  I pray in the name of the Jesus Christ. Amen